UMKC announces recipients of annual entrepreneurship awards

The University of Missouri-Kansas City’s Regnier Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation has announced the six recipients of its 2016 Entrepreneur of the Year awards. UMKC will recognize the honorees on Nov. 10 at the Kansas City Convention Center.

Dave and Demi Kiersznowski are the International Entrepreneurs of the Year. They are the founders and owners of Demdaco and RedRock Traditions. In 2015, Demdaco’s Edgerton, Kan., distribution facility received a Capstone award.

The late Ewing Marion Kauffman was named Honorary International Entrepreneur of the Year. Kauffman founded Marion Laboratories as well as the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, which fosters entrepreneurship and promotes education. He also established the Kansas City Royals.

Gary Fish is the Regional Entrepreneur of the Year. He has founded tech companies Fishtech Labs, Fishnet Security, and Firemon. The newest of these is Fishtech Labs, an accelerator for cloud-based technology solutions, software networks and visualization.

Joseph and Judy Roetheli will receive the Marion and John Kreamer Award for Social Entrepreneurship. The Roethelis are the founders of the Lil’ Red Foundation, focusing on assistance to the developing world, animal therapy, inspirational stories and entrepreneurship. They also co-founded Greenies Dog Treats and S&M NuTec LLC.

Tags:, , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Have you heard?

Missouri Business Alert is participating in CoMoGives2019!

Find out how we plan to use your gift to enhance training and programming for our students