Parson leads GOP sweep of statewide offices; redistricting changes rolled back

Though the presidential race remained undecided early Wednesday, the winners of Missouri’s statewide races were clear Tuesday night, showing a Republican sweep.

Gov. Mike Parson was elected for his first full term as governor. The Republican, who took over as governor when former Gov. Eric Greitens resigned in 2018, commanded 57.2% of the vote. State Auditor Nicole Galloway, the Democratic challenger, earned 40.6% of the vote, according to unofficial results from the secretary of state.

“I want to thank the great people of this state for having the trust and confidence in me to be the governor of the state of Missouri,” Parson said in his victory speech Tuesday night.

Read more: Results from Missouri’s races for president and U.S. Congress

Galloway thanked her supporters in her concession speech, telling Missourians that she is not going anywhere and will continue to bring accountability to the state through her position as State Auditor. She has two more years remaining on her term in that office.

“For the past five years, I have been proud to serve as your independent watchdog in Jefferson City,” Galloway said. “As state auditor, I have uncovered millions in waste, fraud and abuse, and taken on corruption at every level. It has been an honor of my life. You can bet I’ll keep demanding accountability and transparency from politicians in Jefferson City for years to come. I’m not going anywhere, Missouri.”

Other statewide offices

In the four other statewide races Tuesday, Republican candidates were victorious.

Lt. Gov. Mike Kehoe, a Republican, retained his position with 58.5% of the vote, defeating Democrat Alissia Canady, an attorney and former member of the Kansas City Council, who received 38.7% of the vote.

Attorney General Eric Schmitt, a Republican, won with 59.5% of the vote. His Democratic opponent, Rich Finneran, a St. Louis attorney, received 37.8% of the vote.

Republican Jay Ashcroft was elected to a second term as secretary of state. He will retain his post after receiving 60.5% of the vote. Democratic candidate Yinka Faleti, a St. Louis attorney and nonprofit executive, received 36.3% of the votes.

In the race for State Treasurer, Republican incumbent Scott Fitzpatrick retained his office with 59.2% of the vote. Vicki Lorenz Englund, the Democratic challenger, received 38% of the vote.

It was the first election to their respective offices for Kehoe, Schmitt and Fitzpatrick, who all were appointed to their positions amid a reshuffling of offices after Greitens resigned.

Constitutional amendments

Amendment 3 passed with 51% approval, effectively undoing the “Clean Missouri” measure voters approved in 2018. The new amendment calls for redistricting to be conducted by a bipartisan commission appointed by the governor, instead of by a demographer, as mandated by the 2018 measure.

The amendment also lowers limits on lobbyist gifts from $5 to $0 and state senate campaign contributions from $2,500 to $2,400. However, the biggest effect of the amendment is that it does away with the redistricting process and criteria approved by voters just two years ago.

Missourians rejected Amendment 1, which would have imposed a limit of two terms on the state’s lieutenant governor, attorney general, auditor and treasurer. About 52% of voters opposed the measure.

The graphics below illustrate how Missourians voted Tuesday on all statewide candidates and issues.

Tags:, , , , , , , , , ,

Have you heard?

Missouri Business Alert is participating in CoMoGives2019!

Find out how we plan to use your gift to enhance training and programming for our students

Learn more