Obama grants disaster declaration following Missouri flooding

President Barack Obama granted Gov. Jay Nixon’s request for a major disaster declaration following recent flooding in Missouri. The decree makes federal assistance, including temporary housing and repairs and replacement of items lost or damaged in flooding, available to residents of 33 Missouri counties.

Available aid also includes low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration, which can help affected companies compensate for property loss or economic hardship.

The deadline for most individual assistance programs is 60 days after the president’s declaration.

Sixteen deaths and the damage or destruction of close to 1,000 homes resulted from the flooding, which peaked in late December.

The eligible counties are Barry, Barton, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cole, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Maries, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

Read more: Missourinet

Tags:, , ,

Leave a Reply

Have you heard?

Missouri Business Alert is participating in CoMoGives2019!

Find out how we plan to use your gift to enhance training and programming for our students