USDA Designates MO Natural Disaster Area

JEFFERSON CITY –  All 114 counties of Missouri were designated as natural disaster areas by the U.S. Department of Agriculture on Tuesday. The move will give farmers, reeling from unrelenting heat and drought, access to emergency low-interest loans  and other assistance from the federal government.

Missouri Gov.Jay Nixon requested USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack to grant Missouri disaster area status last week.

“We’re going to continue to stand with farmers during this ongoing disaster and afterward, to help with their recovery. This designation is another part of that process,” Nixon said.

Nixon began his tour of areas hard-hit by the drought at a farm near Ewing, in Lewis County and plans to visit with farmers near Tarkio and Bolivar.

Nixon said producers should document any losses or additional costs experienced as a result of weather events, including drought. That information is often required for producers to be eligible for physical and production loss loan assistance from the Farm Service Agency, as well as other assistance programs.

Tags:, , ,

Leave a Reply

Have you heard?

Missouri Business Alert is participating in CoMoGives2019!

Find out how we plan to use your gift to enhance training and programming for our students

Learn more