Missouri farmers suffering from drought can now apply for disaster loans

Missouri agricultural producers who suffered losses and damages due to a drought this year can now apply for emergency loans from the Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency, according to a state press release.

The department announced Monday that it was designating 25 Missouri counties as primary natural disaster areas, including Harrison, Macon and Buchanan. In addition to the designated counties, the release includes a list of bordering counties that are also eligible to apply for aid.

Through the emergency loan program, agriculture producers can apply to borrow a maximum of $500,000 to cover up to 100 percent of actual production or physical losses.

Producers will have until April 1, 2019, to apply for emergency loans.

The release noted that there are a number of other assistance programs through the Farm Service Agency, which farmers can apply to even if they are not in a designated disaster area.

The state’s ongoing drought this summer threatened several farming industries across Missouri, with soybean production taking the strongest hit.

Tags:, , ,

Leave a Reply

Have you heard?

Missouri Business Alert is participating in CoMoGives2019!

Find out how we plan to use your gift to enhance training and programming for our students