Nixon names 16 members of Ferguson Commission

Gov. Jay Nixon on Tuesday swore in the 16 members of the Ferguson Commission, a group that aims to address the “social and economic conditions” brought to the fore by protests after the August killing of Michael Brown by Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson.

Nixon selected the group, which features a variety of business and civic leaders, from a pool of more than 300 applicants.

Co-chairmen of the commission are the Rev. Starsky Wilson, president and CEO of the Deaconess Foundation and pastor of St. John’s United Church of Christ in St. Louis; and Rich McClure, chairman of the St. Louis Regional Board of Teach for America, former president of UniGroup Inc. and of Civic Progress.

Read more from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Tags:, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Have you heard?

Missouri Business Alert is participating in CoMoGives2019!

Find out how we plan to use your gift to enhance training and programming for our students